
                       SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA  
  

                           DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND CHILD CUSTODY  
  

            If you are involved in a family law case involving children and there has been         
            domestic violence, here is important information about a law that affects you.  

  
 
 

What is "child custody"?  
There are two types.  
• Physical custody: Whom the child lives 

with  
• Legal custody: Who makes important 

decisions regarding the child's health care, 
education, and welfare  

 

What is "domestic violence"?  
It means to hit, kick, scare, throw things, pull 
hair, push, follow, harass, sexually assault, or 
threaten to do any of these things. It also 
includes other actions that make someone 
afraid of being hurt. Domestic violence can be 
spoken, written, or physical.  

How does the judge decide if there is 
domestic violence in my case?  
The judge will treat your case as a domestic 
violence case if, in the last 5 years,  
• A parent was convicted of domestic 

violence against the other parent or  
• Any court has decided that one parent 

committed domestic violence against the 
other parent or the children  

Otherwise, the judge will decide based on all 
the evidence in your case. The judge cannot 
decide based only on the conclusions or 
recommendations of child custody mediator or 
a child custody evaluator.  

What if the judge decides there is 
domestic violence in my case?  
If a court decides there is domestic violence 
(now or in the past 5 years) against a parent or 
the children, the judge must follow special rules 
to decide custody of the children.  

Usually, the judge cannot give custody to the 
person who committed domestic violence. But 
the judge can give that person visitation.  
 

 
Are there exceptions?  
Yes. The judge can give custody to the 
person who committed the domestic 
violence. To do so, the judge must 
consider whether:  
• It is best for the child  
• The person has:  

--Completed a 52-week batterer's 
program --Not committed any other 
domestic   
   violence  

• The person has obeyed court orders 
to:  

       – Complete an alcohol or drug abuse  
          program or a parenting class  

   – Follow all terms of probation or 
parole 

     or a protective or restraining order  

This law applies to any person seeking 
custody, not only a parent. To read the law, 
see California Family Code section 3044.  
Other laws also apply.  

Need Help?  
For more information, contact:  

Alameda County Bar Association  
Lawyer Referral Services  
Phone: (510) 302-2222    
  
Superior Court of California  
County of Alameda  
Self Help Centers  
Oakland, Hayward, Fremont, 
Pleasanton 
Phone: (510) 272-1393  
www.alameda.courts.ca.gov 
  
California Courts Online Self-Help 
Center  
www.courtinfo.ca.gov.selfhelp/
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